top of page

James R. Brittain Award

for Community Service

Nominations are open through November 14th.   Nomination Form

The James R. Brittain Award for Community Service is presented annually by the Chapel Hill-Carrboro NAACP to an individual who has made significant contributions to the struggle for Civil Rights and Social Justice in our community.

Criteria for Selection

The nominee must demonstrate, through their work, that they embody the objectives of the NAACP, which include:

  • To ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of all citizens

  • To work to achieve equality of rights and work to eliminate race prejudice in the community


The nominee embodies the values of the organization and promotes social, racial, and political justice.


The nominee is someone who is civically engaged in the community and has demonstrated actions that are exemplary.

Previous Awardees

Liz Carter

Greg Mc Elveen

Tye & Wanda Hunter

Barbara Hopkins

Dr. Rodney Coleman

Moses Carey

Collene Rogers

Robert Campbell

Joal Broun

Henry Jones

Awards Process

Nominations must be submitted by November 14, 2020. Persons are nominated using this form.

Letters of recommendation by two members in good standing of the organization, must sponsor the nominee and accompany the nomination form.

The Awards Committee reviews the forms for completion only, not content.  The Executive Committee votes on the nominees.  The Award is presented at the Freedom Fund Banquet.

bottom of page