Meet Our Committees

Our branch is actively working on a number of local and state issues.  Much of the work the branch does is done through our committees.  We invite you to get involved! 

Officers

2nd Vice President

Joal Broun

2ndvice5689@gmail.com

3rd Vice President

Anna Richards

3rdvice5689@gmail.com

President

Dawna Jones

president@chcnaacp.com

1st Vice President

Diane Robertson

1stvice5689@gmail.com

Treasurer

Dr. Deborah Stroman

treasurer@chcnaacp.com

Assistant Treasurer

Dr. Lonnie Merrick

lonnie.merrick5689@gmail.com

Secretary

Paris Miller

secretary@chcnaacp.com

Assistant Secretary

Margaret Krome-Lukens

assistantsecretary5689@gmail.com

Communications

Co-Chairs

Evan Markfield 

communications5689@gmail.com

The Communications Committee uses all forms of media, including the outside media, branch website, social media and e-newsletter, to keep local membership and community aware of critical civil rights issues and increase branch engagement.

Economic Development

Co-Chairs

Soteria Shepperson

economicdev5689@gmail.com

The Economic Development committee is dedicated to identifying and uplifting Black Businesses and entrepreneurs while providing community connections, resources and opportunities to establish and promote generational wealth.

Environmental & Climate Justice

Co-Chairs

TBD

ejc5689@gmail.com

NAACP's ECJ program advocates for reducing harmful emissions, particularly greenhouse gases, advancing energy efficiency and clean energy, and strengthening community resilience and livability.

Health & Wellness

Co-Chairs

Rebecca Cerese and Dr. Lonnie Merrick

healthandwellness5689@gmail.com

The Health and Wellness Committee is currently focused on supporting health education and access to health care in our community.

Labor & Industry

Co-Chairs

Braxton Foushee and Trevor Holman

labor5689@gmail.com

The Labor Committee seeks to improve the economic status of minority groups by working to eliminate discriminatory employment practices in industry and government.

Membership

Co-Chairs

Barbara Foushee and Jonah Garson

membership5689@gmail.com

The membership committee seeks to increase and retain branch memberships. This committee organizes events for membership recruitment and engagement.

Religious Affairs

Co-Chairs

Valerie Foushee and Rev. Clarke French

religiousaffairs5689@gmail.com

The Religious Affairs Committee seeks to promote an educational program designed to give a moral and ethical interpretation to the civil rights struggle. 

Youth Council

Officers

Visit the Youth Council page for complete list

NAACP Youth and College Division is a courageous generation of intelligent, militant and effective youth leaders creating a world for all people to thrive. It's members are the future of leadership and advocacy in our communities.

Criminal Justice

Co-Chairs

Tye Hunter 

criminaljustice5689@gmail.com

The Criminal Justice committee works to educate Orange County stakeholders on the racially disproportionate intent and impact of juvenile and criminal justice laws, policies, and practices with the goal of creating a more just and equitable system.

Education

Co-Chairs

Evelyn Gordon and Gloria Thomas

education5689@gmail.com

The Education Committee seeks the establishment of a culture and environment in which all are valued and treated with respect, and all students are empowered to excel—with an elimination of current pervasive racial inequities in achievement and discipline.

Finance

Co-Chairs

Dr. Deborah Stroman and Nicho Stevens

finance5689@gmail.com

The Finance Committee is tasked with ensuring the overall financial health and success of the branch by overseeing financial policies and procedures and budget-related decisions, including developing an annual budget.

Housing

Co-Chairs

Delores Bailey and Heather Brutz

housing5689@gmail.com

The Housing Committee seeks to disseminate information and render such other assistance which may eliminate discrimination in housing. 

Legal Redress

Co-Chairs

Jonathan Broun and Le'Ron Byrd

legalredresscommittee5689@gmail.com

The Legal Redress Committee seeks to support members of the community who are in need of legal advice and advocacy. 

Political Action

Co-Chairs

Nicole Powell

politicalaction5689@gmail.com

The Political Action Committee seeks to increase voter registration and participation in our community and inform voters of local, national, and global legislation that impacts minority people.

Women in NAACP

Co-Chairs

Leah Adeniji

wincommittee5689@gmail.com

The Women in the NAACP (WIN) Committee seeks to enhance the leadership of women in the Association and to advocate for issues impacting women. 

Youth Works

Co-Chairs

Lorie Clark and Valerie Campbell-Clark

naacpyc5689@gmail.com

The Youth Works Committee seeks to support and guide youth and young adults in our community. The Youth Works Committee also supports and advises the work of the Youth Council. 

Questions about our committee work? Email us!