top of page

Branch announces election winners

The Chapel Hill-Carrboro NAACP held its branch election Nov. 7 to elect the officers who will begin serving two-year terms in 2021.

Dawna Jones, a 2018 NAACP NEXTGEN graduate and Assistant Dean of Students and adjunct professor at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, was chosen as the next branch president, with Diane Robertson, Joal Broun and Anna Richards elected to vice-president roles.

“I am excited to continue the work of our current President, who has led us to be a prominent voice in the Chapel Hill-Carrboro communities and the state of North Carolina,” Jones said. “The NAACP NEXTGEN program has prepared me for this role, and I am grateful for the opportunity to serve.”

Paris Miller and Margaret Krome-Lukens were elected secretary and assistant secretary, respectively, while Deborah Stroman will serve as treasurer and Lonnie Merrick as assistant treasurer.

Sixteen at-large members – who serve as co-chairs for the various committees that support the branch’s work for equality and justice in the community – were also elected. They are, in alphabetical order: Delores Bailey, Heather Brutz, Robert Campbell, Robin Campbell, Rebecca Cerese, Barbara Foushee, Braxton Foushee, Valerie Foushee, Jonah Garson, Jesse Gibson, Evelyn Gordon, Trevor Holman, Dianne Jackson, Evan Markfield, Mary Phillips and Gloria Thomas.

“Dawna Jones’ leadership and creativity were integral to operations during the last several years,” current branch President Anna Richards said. “Those experiences ensure a seamless transition and position the Chapel Hill-Carrboro NAACP for the next level. I congratulate her and all members of the team. I look forward to working together for equality.”

331 views0 comments


bottom of page