top of page

Chapel Hill-Carrboro NAACP MLK Jr. Service Award- Submit a Nomination

Do you know someone who has raised awareness of social justice issues, been a community advocate for justice, and in 2018, became a spark for action, inspiring others to make the Chapel Hill-Carrboro community a better place to live?

If so, take a moment to nominate that person for the Chapel Hill-Carrboro NAACP Branch Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Service Award. Whether you are a member of the Chapel Hill-Carrboro NAACP branch or not, you can have a role in selecting the winner of this year’s award.

Nominate your selection online by clicking here or by mailing your written nomination to PO Box 1236, Carrboro, NC 27510 by January 11, 2019. For mailed submissions, please include contact information for yourself and your nominee.

With the nominations coming from a broad cross section of the community, the winner is a genuine reflection of Dr. King’s values.

The award winner will be acknowledged at the branch’s annual Martin Luther King Jr. celebration on January 21st at First Baptist Church of Chapel Hill.

Want to join the selection committee? Selection committee will consist of two executive committee members and two branch members. Join us at the January 5th branch meeting to volunteer to join the selection committee.

More about the award:

The branch consistently tries to recognize and celebrate people and organizations in Chapel Hill-Carrboro whose work exemplifies the legacy of the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

This award will recognize an individual that envisions solutions to the many inequities in this world that we live in, but also has the courage to act and to persevere in the face of challenging circumstances.

The recipient of this award will embody Dr. King’s service to humanity as evidenced by their commitment to service and social justice in the Chapel Hill-Carrboro community.

Nominees should include individuals who:

  1. Raise awareness of social justice issues;

  2. Make a significant impact on the community through advocacy efforts;

  3. Have a demonstrated track record of service to the Chapel Hill-Carrboro community;

  4. Are a spark for action that inspires others to act in service to making our community a better place to live.

Nominations will be accepted online and/or in writing to PO Box 1236, Carrboro, NC 27510 by January 11, 2019.

Awardees will be selected by a small committee to consist of two executive committee members and two additional branch members to be selected at the January 5th branch meeting.

Previous recipients:

2018: Greg McElveen

2017: Barbara Foushee

2016: Ruth Zalph

2015: Revs. Richard and Jill Edens

2014: Francis & Marguerite Coyle

79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page